Skip navigation

Karaoke night at the Five Spot on Myrtle and Washington has peppered my thursday night myrtle shuffle for the past year. Though I haven’t been a regular, I’ve sung Purple Rain on that stage and to the degree that I was going to the Five Spot, that was the night to do it. This Thursday I expected more good times with friends I hadn’t seen in a while (including the one who coined the phrase “myrtle shuffle”). We found out unfortunately that there is now a $5 cover charge. We were told at the door that there would be karaoke but the karaoke man has apparently been axed. The crowd was as motley and unique as a myrtle crowd can be: hipsters, Pratt freshmen girls eager to sing “Like a Virgin”, homies from Walt Whitman. The $1 PBRs were still there. That and the signature raucus live band. But Karaoke night is no more. No more voluminous catalogs from which to choose unforgettable singalong oldies, no more lyrics screen. Just when I thought I had (almost) everything I need on the strip, I have to travel to Park Slope or to Korea Town in Manhattan when I feel like singing.
outside.in

Leave a Reply

