Skip navigation

The owners of Wally’s Square Root café told me the other day while I was brunching at their place that they noticed I, along with Clinton Hill Blog and Clinton Hill Foodie, had stopped blogging. I replied: “Actually I never stopped blogging. It’s just that I switched to “micro-blogging” ahem… tweeting.”

Too bad I never got around to posting about this switch. But it is never too late. So yes, please refer to @myrtleshuffle on Twitter from here on. It also feeds live to this blog at the bottom left.

See you around the hood!

Just so you know, philosophically I am now at a different place than when I started this blog. Whereas new restaurants were exciting to me a few years ago, now as the neighborhood looks and feels increasingly more like Manhattan, they sometimes make me nostalgic for the way things used to be. So I’ve decided to post more about the things that do not cost money and less about the stuff that might give folks considering moving to the new trendy hood but who only care about “amenities” the wrong kind of idea about the soul of Fort Greene. In other words: I would rather no longer contribute to the cultural carnage that has slowly taken place in Fort Greene over the twelve or so years that I have lived here and therefore I no longer post exclusively about the things I do here that happen to cost money.

Also, as I feel more and more bored by Fort Greene’s boilerplate Mcmakeover, I am increasingly hanging out everywhere else in Brooklyn that reminds me of the old Fort Greene: Bed-Stuy, Crown Heights and Flatbush. Hope you enjoy the ride if you choose to come along.

4 Comments

  1. As one of the other wayward Clinton Hill bloggers mentioned, I’ve had some people reach out to me recently as well. I can sympathize with how you feel. I had tried to keep up with the endless string of restaurant and store openings in the area, and felt like I wasn’t really adding much to the conversation. When I did try to add my voice beyond just regurgitating “X is open now!” I was accused of either shilling for gentrification or hating on anything new, and it wasn’t much fun.

    That doesn’t excuse why I’ve also stopped writing about my own cooking, but it did contribute to my general feeling that I wasn’t inspired to blog much any more. I haven’t said any kind of permanent goodbye, but when asked why I’m not blogging, that’s basically it. I haven’t felt inspired; I haven’t been feeling it. Throw in a demanding new job, a new fiancee, and an impending move (to Fort Greene, I’m not going far), and blogging about the neighborhood took a bit of a backseat.

    That said, I’m also on Twitter – @chfbrian. I don’t tweet as much as I used to either, but I’m still there.

    Glad to hear things are going well with you and that you’re still exploring Brooklyn.

    -Brian, Clinton Hill Foodie

  2. Very good to hear from you Brian. Glad you’re well!

  3. Hi guys! CHB stopped publishing since we moved – to BedStuy! But it was really getting to be too much work and things really had changed. I got a very busy new job, got married, etc.

    But the good old days really were fun. Sigh.

    You can find me on Twitter @lesterhead

    • Hi Lesterhead,
      Glad to hear from you and to find out you did not move halfway across the world.
      A


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

